miniheader nativity


Learning & Teaching

St Mary's Catholic Parish Primary School is registered by the NSW Board of Studies (BOS) and is subject to the curriculum requirements of the Board.  The new Australian Curriculum will most likely be implemented in 2013/14.

The myschool website provides parents and students with information on each school’s performance in NAPLAN. 

Requirements include an educational program based on, and taught in accordance with, the outcomes of Board of Studies syllabuses in the six Key Learning Areas (KLAs) of English, Mathematics, Science & Technology, Human Society and its Environment, Creative Arts and Personal Development, Health and Physical Education. In addition, a course in Religious Education is taught in theory and practice.

The Primary Curriculum is organised into Stages: 

Early Stage 1 Kindergarten
Stage 1 Year 1 and Year 2
Stage 2 Year 3 and Year 4
Stage 3 Year 5 and Year 6

Most students will be working towards the outcomes for their Stage. Some students will be working towards outcomes that are above or below their Stage.