St Mary’s Star of the Sea Catholic Primary school has a unique history. Originally a part of the Canberra-Goulburn Diocese, it was 1914 when four sisters of the Order of St Joseph arrived to teach the children of the district. During this time the church was used as the school building.
The school remained until 1925 when it closed due to small enrolment numbers. In 1951 with an enrolment list of 64 children the sisters resumed their work providing a Catholic Education for children of the district in a small school located around the corner where the service station is today.
With the establishment of a new Diocese in 1952, St Mary’s became a part of the Wollongong Diocese and in 1963 a new school was built in Corks Lane opposite its humble beginnings, the parish church.
There are two vital elements to our identity as a Catholic School:
- the religious life of the school including daily prayer, grace before meals and the presence of Catholic Icons
- the religious education of the students at St Mary’s which includes daily lessons in the Key Learning Area of Religious Education which is assessed and reported on in our twice yearly report cards